Ajinkya Rahane to lead India in first Test vs New Zealand

Ajinkya Rahane

Ajinkya Rahane

Ajinkya Rahane was announced as the captain of India for the first Test against New Zealand as Virat Kohli was rested. The All-India Senior Selection Committee named a 15-member squad for the upcoming 2-match Test series against New Zealand. Kohli will be back as captain after returning to the squad from the second Test match. 

As expected, newly appointed T20I captain Rohit Sharma was rested from the entire Test series. So were the likes of Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Rishabh Pant.
Surprisingly, there was no place for Hanuma Vihari, who had been a regular feature in the Indian red-ball set-up for the last 3-4 years.

Vihari had played a major role in helping India save the Sydney Test Australia, batting with an injured hamstring. That the right-hander has regained full fitness is certain because he has featured in all the matches for Hyderabad so far in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament. 

White-ball specialist Shreyas Iyer, meanwhile returned to India's Test side and is likely to make his debut in Kanpur.  It will be a toss-up between Mayank Agarwal and Shubman Gill for the opener's spot along with KL Rahul. 

Another notable inclusion was Jayant Yadav. The off-spinning all-rounder made a comeback to the Indian Test side after more than 4years. He last played for India in the home series against Australia in 2017. 


Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin are expected to lead the spin department with Axar Patel as another option. Right-arm seamer Prasidh Krishna earned his maiden call-up while Ishant Sharma and Mohammed Siraj completed the pace battery. 

India’s Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna



KL Rahul and Rashid Khan

KL Rahul and Rashid Khan allegedly approached by Lucknow, complaint lodged by PBKS and SRH

The deadline by which all 8 IPL franchises should give the list of players that they would like to retain ahead of the mega auctions is 30th November...

IPL 2022

Retainment Player List of IPL 2022

By Tuesday evening, the official list of retainment will pour in after the selection procedure of the eight original franchises. As per the repor...

States & UTs

Maharashtra New Rule

Maharashtra Issues New Rules for the common mass dropping down

 The Maharashtra government, on Tuesday, has issued a new set of rules for everyone who would come into its territories from outside, over the ai...

Resident doctors

Resident doctors in Karnataka go on a strike from the 29th of November

The association of the Karnataka doctors on Sunday went on for a statewide strike from the 29th of November the reason for the strike being the three-...


Akhilesh Yadav

UP educational system corrupted, Akhilesh Yadav alleges

UPTET 2021 Paper was reported to have been leaked. Samajwadi Party chief, Akhilesh Yadav intimates e...

Tripura Municipal Election

BJP Leads Tripura Municipal Election Results 2021

Tripura Municipal Election Results 2021: The counting of votes for over 200 seats in the Agartala Mu...


Money Heist

Netflix to expand the universe of Money Heist

 Good news for all Money Heist fans! Netflix has now assured that though the "Heist"...

Ranveer Singh

Ranveer Singh Playing Kapil Dev in 83:Trailer Launch

The trailer of 83 is finally out after much wait and speculation. The film is based on India's w...


The Live Newz is an independent, budding and online news portal that came into existence recently. Our mission is to create and deliver the finest news for the readers. We act as a cutting-edge platform that provides the users with every update on recent happenings. We aspire to be true to the journalistic values and maintain the standard of its excellence by presenting the truth to the readers.