Changes in Indian Team, Rohit Sharma Named the New Captain

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is ordained officially as India's new T20I Captain, replacing Viral Kohli, sent for resting for the three-match series with New Zealand from November 17, in Jaipur. The team now has a new-look, with the new faces like Ruturaj Gaikwad, IPL's stupendous performance of the highest runner-getter. He has also played for India in the Srilankan series. 

Top wicket taker, Harshal Patel with 32 wickets is also added to the main squad. Venkatesh Iyer is also moved to the main squad of 16 as a potential full replacement of Hardik Pandya.Senior leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal got back in the T20I squad for India. Mohammad Siraj, an eye-catcher for a few T20Is also backed in the mix. Shreya Iyer, Axas Patel and Deepak Chaher, put in the reserved section for the T20 World Cup, are now brought back to the front main team. 

Rohit is appointed as formality, with KL Rahul as his new deputy for the format. BCCI has refused to comment on ODI captaincy for now, but he is inclined to see a white ball captain getting into the 2023 50-over World Cup. Decisions for the three match ODI series with South Africa will be taken later. 

The official report is not sure of the continuation of Virat's captaincy in ODI. Discussions to commence, but chances are fragile. He is voted to remain as the test captain. Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, and spinner, Ravindra Jadeja set aside for rest, for the New Zealand series. 

The decision to drop Pandya was the lack of transparency and accountability in his fitness status. The Selection Committee was worried about his health and fitness, which have made them officially drop Hardik, while others were rested. Hardie has not yet recovered from his lower back injury, which has affected his performance in the T20 World Cup. Chetan Sharma, the chief national selector and his team have decided to relent the former captain, Virat's decision to position him as No.6 in the room for specialist batter. 

India's new T20I squad is now like: 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj



KL Rahul and Rashid Khan

KL Rahul and Rashid Khan allegedly approached by Lucknow, complaint lodged by PBKS and SRH

The deadline by which all 8 IPL franchises should give the list of players that they would like to retain ahead of the mega auctions is 30th November...

IPL 2022

Retainment Player List of IPL 2022

By Tuesday evening, the official list of retainment will pour in after the selection procedure of the eight original franchises. As per the repor...

States & UTs

Resident doctors

Resident doctors in Karnataka go on a strike from the 29th of November

The association of the Karnataka doctors on Sunday went on for a statewide strike from the 29th of November the reason for the strike being the three-...

International Trade Fair

Bihar bestowed with gold Award at 40th International Trade Fair

Bihar secured the first position with a gold Award at the 40th India International Trade Festival (IITF) for its excellence in display in state govern...


Akhilesh Yadav

UP educational system corrupted, Akhilesh Yadav alleges

UPTET 2021 Paper was reported to have been leaked. Samajwadi Party chief, Akhilesh Yadav intimates e...

Tripura Municipal Election

BJP Leads Tripura Municipal Election Results 2021

Tripura Municipal Election Results 2021: The counting of votes for over 200 seats in the Agartala Mu...


Ranveer Singh

Ranveer Singh Playing Kapil Dev in 83:Trailer Launch

The trailer of 83 is finally out after much wait and speculation. The film is based on India's w...

Sanjay & Poonam’

Another celebrity wedding completed at the end of 2021

 Another celebrity wedding completed at the end phase of the year 2021. This time the couple is...


The Live Newz is an independent, budding and online news portal that came into existence recently. Our mission is to create and deliver the finest news for the readers. We act as a cutting-edge platform that provides the users with every update on recent happenings. We aspire to be true to the journalistic values and maintain the standard of its excellence by presenting the truth to the readers.