Neeraj Chopra, Ravi Kumar, Mithali Raj among 12 awarded Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna

Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna

Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna

Olympic champion, javelin throwing expert, Neeraj Chopra, veteran women cricketer, Mithali Raj and awe-inspiring Paralympic stars shared the fame and focus as an unprecedented 12 sports persons were bestowed upon with the highest sporting title in India- the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna on Saturday. 

President Ram Nath Kovind honoured them with the appreciation. A grand function was held to congratulate and facilitate the country's biggest sports talents at the Durbar Hall in Rashtrapati Bhavan, for their unparalleled performances. 

After the Covid-19 pandemic, the event took place in person. The chief appeal of the evening show was Chopra, who received his Khel Ratna award amidst thunderous applause and cheer from the selected dignitaries present at the specially organised function. Chopra was the first among the Khel Ratna awardees to receive the honour.

Besides the 23-year-old star, other recipients of the Khel Ratna honour, were Olympic bronze-winning Indian men's hockey team captain Manpreet Singh, doyen goalkeeper P R Sreejesh, Olympic silver-medallist wrestler Ravi Dahiya, Olympic bronze-winning boxer Lovlina Borgohain and Mithali.

For the first time in history, a footballer got recognised with this honour: a well-selected recognition for keeping similarities with the likes of Lionel Messi in scoring international goals. Paralympic gold-winners Avani Lekhara (Shooting), Sumit Antil (Athletics), Pramod Bhagat (Badminton), Krishna Nagar (Badminton), Manish Narwal (Shooting) were also given the title for their outstanding performances. 

Apart from 12 Khel Ratnas, India this year has 35 Arjuna awardees. The long list this year was a result of the historic medal haul at the Olympics (7) and Paralympics (19), which made India proud and represented her strongly on international platforms. 

The event is customarily held on August 29 every year to celebrate the birth anniversary of hockey legend Major Dhyan Chand. The Khel Ratna award carries a cash prize purse of Rs 25 lakh, a medal and a scroll of recognition. The Arjuna award carries a prize money of Rs 15 lakh, a bronze statue and a scroll of honour.

The chief selected guests for the ceremony were India's sports minister Anurag Thakur along with a host of other dignitaries, including his predecessor Kiren Rijiju.



KL Rahul and Rashid Khan

KL Rahul and Rashid Khan allegedly approached by Lucknow, complaint lodged by PBKS and SRH

The deadline by which all 8 IPL franchises should give the list of players that they would like to retain ahead of the mega auctions is 30th November...

IPL 2022

Retainment Player List of IPL 2022

By Tuesday evening, the official list of retainment will pour in after the selection procedure of the eight original franchises. As per the repor...

States & UTs

Maharashtra New Rule

Maharashtra Issues New Rules for the common mass dropping down

 The Maharashtra government, on Tuesday, has issued a new set of rules for everyone who would come into its territories from outside, over the ai...

Resident doctors

Resident doctors in Karnataka go on a strike from the 29th of November

The association of the Karnataka doctors on Sunday went on for a statewide strike from the 29th of November the reason for the strike being the three-...


Akhilesh Yadav

UP educational system corrupted, Akhilesh Yadav alleges

UPTET 2021 Paper was reported to have been leaked. Samajwadi Party chief, Akhilesh Yadav intimates e...

Tripura Municipal Election

BJP Leads Tripura Municipal Election Results 2021

Tripura Municipal Election Results 2021: The counting of votes for over 200 seats in the Agartala Mu...


Money Heist

Netflix to expand the universe of Money Heist

 Good news for all Money Heist fans! Netflix has now assured that though the "Heist"...

Ranveer Singh

Ranveer Singh Playing Kapil Dev in 83:Trailer Launch

The trailer of 83 is finally out after much wait and speculation. The film is based on India's w...


The Live Newz is an independent, budding and online news portal that came into existence recently. Our mission is to create and deliver the finest news for the readers. We act as a cutting-edge platform that provides the users with every update on recent happenings. We aspire to be true to the journalistic values and maintain the standard of its excellence by presenting the truth to the readers.